Posted in Parenting

How I Let My 5-year-old Help Around the House

 

Letting our children do household chores is vital for them to become responsible adults. Different researches like this,this and this have emphasized the significance of chores in relation to a child’s future success.

Plus, the little things my five-year-old does with her little hands are big relief on my to-do list

Here are some of the chores I let my daughter do.

  1. Fix her toys and books
  2. Bring dirty clothes and linens to the laundry basket
  3. Get stuff from another room
  4. Mix pancake/ cupcake batter and scramble eggs
  5. Line muffin trays with muffin cups
  6. Get plates before meals
  7. Return washed dishes on the dish rack
  8. Water plants
  9. Buy from the store ( only from the store adjacent to our house)
  10. Wash her underwear
  11. Fold her pants ( she has yet to learn how to fold the others)
  12. Fix folded clothes back to her drawer

    1375292_665086966834762_626446024_n
    My daughter helping up with baking when she was still 3 years old.

Giving chores to kids have difficulties. It is often easier to do the tasks ourselves, but the struggle is worth it if you do not want you and your children to end up miserable in the end.

I sometimes worry about wasting resources when my child does some chores. However, the chore can be grounds to teach values on frugality and economy.  I also wrestle with my patience when I let her do some chores because she does it so slowly. Sometimes I nag unreasonably or end up doing it myself; which should not be.

WebMD has suggested age-appropriate tasks here. This is just a guide, though; children have varied abilities. Often times, my daughter gives clues on what she can do. She even asks if she is allowed to do some chores. As long as the chore will not obviously harm her, I let her try then decide if she can do it more often.

What are your struggles in letting children do chores? Do you have tips on how to make giving chores easier? I would love to know them!

Author:

Hello! I'm Donnabeth A, your highland mommy. Making parenting better and easier one blog post at a time. Exploring and promoting the Cordillera Highlands through blogs.

2 thoughts on “How I Let My 5-year-old Help Around the House

Leave a Reply

